Uses and Effects of Mass Media Pre-Course Thoughts ~ Phil Hogan

I started this blog about a year and a half ago with the intent to write film reviews regularly and post them on here, so I’ve never really used this blog for personal reflections and what not. I debated where I should put my name or even how to open this paragraph. I love over thinking things.

I have always been interested in how the media can shape public opinion, especially in terms of justice and how often times it seems they can help create the mentality of “guilty before being proven innocent”. An obvious example would be the Duke Lacrosse scandal that happened some years back. But also, something happened on Friday that made me think about it even more. The West Memphis 3 were released from prison under a bizarre plea agreement, after being behind bars for 18 years, with one of them on death row.

I won’t describe the case in detail, for I didn’t know anything about it until watching the news last Friday, but after reading about it all weekend, these boys seem to have suffered from media persecution which led to their guilty verdicts (as well as police misconduct), even though no physical evidence could be found against them. Perhaps I am being swayed now by a new media bias, but I found all of this very interesting and somewhat relevant to our courses. Here is a link about the case from the always reliable Wikipedia!

Yeah, okay, so maybe the above stuff is pretty morbid. But life is good! Enjoy this funk:

2 responses to “Uses and Effects of Mass Media Pre-Course Thoughts ~ Phil Hogan

  1. “An obvious example would be the Duke Lacrosse scandal that happened some years back.”

    Indeed. Newsweek ran mug shots of two of the (falsely) accused on its cover, AFTER they had already been cleared by DNA testing. I doubt a high-school newspaper would have been allowed to get away with that
    kind of bias (at least the faculty counselor would have caught it).

  2. Herbie Hancock is the man :O

Leave a Reply

